A NEW BEGINNING

Hi.  Welcome to the new blog.

I figured I would start up a new blog as I plan on re-inventing my running life…new running life…new blog.  Why call it the Rum Bum Diaries?  I guess I just figure that is the general state of my running life.  I am kind of a run bum.  I run as much as I can but rarely have any direction.  I don’t really race much.  I just kind of bum around…at a faster pace than I would if I was walking.  I plan on giving a weekly (give or take) report on my “training” or lack there of.  Generally, I have crazy thoughts or encounters with animals or fall down or something in any given week so there is always the chance that my reports could be somewhat entertaining.  I will also review any new products that I use in the course of my running adventures as well as review any running books that I have read.  Hopefully, the blog will turn out to be entertaining and give people a chance to learn from my mistakes or (every once in a while) my successes in running experimentation.

Where is my running at these days, anyway?  Well…it has been non-existent.  I have spent the last 6+ weeks recovering from a stupid stress fracture in my right foot.  This extended time off allowed me to catch up on sleep, re-read Born to Run, and order up a pair of Lunas (the minimalist sandals inspired by the Tarahumara tribe of running people featured in Born to Run.  As luck would have it my sandals arrived yesterday…perfect timing as this is the week I had planned to begin my comeback. 

This morning I woke before the crack of dawn and headed out for an easy short jog with the new foot wear.  I am not prepared to give a full report on the Lunas yet but I will talk about the morning run in them.  I wasn’t sure what to expect when I got up this morning.  I know I have gotten fatter in the past month and a half but I wasn’t sure how much fitness and endurance I had lost.  I also was not 100% sure if my foot was fully healed or if there would be any residual problems.  It turns out that there wasn’t much to be concerned about.  Even with several stops to adjust the sandals and a slow pace I was still around an 8.5 minute mile pace (under 5 minute/km).  I am not sure where my endurance is at because I really didn’t test it out today.  Today was all about breaking a sweat and figuring out the Lunas.  MISSION ACCOMPLISHED.  I didn’t have that whole cathartic feeling of busting free of injury and flying through my first run but things felt good and right.  At the end of the day, that’s all you can ask for.

 ImageThis is the package that I waited for what seemed like forever.

ImageHere are the new Lunas and my new bumper sticker….sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet.

ImageThose are my feet in my Lunas.

Where do we go from here?  MORE RUNNING.  Yes, I plan on taking it slow and gradually building up but more running is definitely the plan.  So that’s it for now.  Until next blog time, run strong and run free.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A NEW BEGINNING

  1. asf73 says:

    Thanks for posting this and good luck on your running..I look forward in keeping up with your journey.

  2. Mike Tucker says:

    That’s awesome, Steve! Heyyyy, I didn’t get a bumper sticker! I guess I’ll have to convince Kathleen to let me order another pair!

  3. Sam says:

    Great post! I’m sad to see you leave daily mile but glad that I can keep up with your running adventures on your blog. You are one entertaining individual! Good luck Steve!

  4. Brian Roderick says:

    Are those beach sandals?? 😉 Good luck with the Lunas and take care of those feet!

  5. K says:

    Enjoy every step in your journey! No matter what is on your feet. Love you!

  6. I won’t quit you, my friend. I will look forward to seeing your words here. Run on, write on, be.

  7. Jenny Womble says:

    Hey Steve! Stopped by your old dm profile to check your status and found you here. At least I can still read about your whereabouts! So happy that you are healed and on the run again. Until next time…take care!

  8. Suzy says:

    Man, am I ever slow to catch on. Glad I found you here! Love those sandals, and I’m happy if you’re happy.

Leave a Reply

