THE VIEW FROM HERE

Yeah…I am feeling more committed to the new goal as the days go by…and am finding it a bit more daunting of a task.  Funny because I can’t even see the finish line from here…it is more than a year away.  I have decided that the marathon that I am going to most likely run is the Amherstburg marathon.  There are numerous advantages to picking this one.  They are running this year’s version in a couple of weeks so I have at least a year to ready myself.  It is a flat and fast course that should offer me a good chance to hit sub 3.  The best reason is that it is reasonably close to home so I don’t have to travel at all…just wake up and drive there, kick some ass, and go home.  I like it.

I have officially started the process of becoming a marathoner.  As mentioned previously, my wife had placed a small stipulation on my marathon training.  I needed to get myself a family doctor and get a physical.  (As a side note: I don’t like much about going to doctors.  There are always sick people there and I hate waiting around…and they have “waiting rooms” there…where people wait.  It sucks.  Also, in my experience, most doctors really don’t know too much about the athletic side of life so sometimes their advice is a bit suspect.)  But I digress.  I have put the ball in play.  I went to the doctor yesterday and she has formally accepted me as a patient.  PHASE ONE IS NOW COMPLETE.  My physical is a week away so my little weekend project is to get my blood work done.  YAY!!!  Everyone loves getting blood sucked from their bodies.

However, I am well on the way to validating my good health and putting my wife’s fears of me heart attacking in the middle of a 26.2 mile run to rest.  It’s all a good thing.  Now it is on to the task at hand.  Preparing for something that isn’t going to take place for over a year is not one of my strong suits.  But the show must go on so I have begun to read about training programs and goal paces and Yassos and Galloways and Daniels and Higdons and plans and preparations.  It is all a bit much…especially when you start looking at how fast you must run shorter events in order to predict a sub 3 finish in a marathon.  Somehow, telling myself that all I have to do is run over 26 miles at around a 6:50 pace seemed a lot less daunting than looking at the times different entities think I should be able to run a 5k or a 10k in order to achieve my goal.  Aye Carumba…this is scary shit.

My wife uses an expression: “How do you eat an elephant?”  “One bite at a time.”  As with many monumental tasks, this one will be made easier by breaking it up into chunks.  So, while I research the course that I will eventually take to train for the race, I need to work on a few things.  

1) BASE TRAINING:  I really do need to bump my weekly mileage up to a new level.  I want to work in a bit of speed work every week or so but my main goal here should be to slowly increase my mileage so I can get comfortable with things.

2) LOSE 10 POUNDS: I know…ridiculous that a runner should have to even entertain the idea of dieting but, damn it, I just think that my body will work more efficiently if I drop a bit of weight and get a bit leaner and meaner.

3) LEAN OUT: Yep…it’s more than a dietary thing.  For a runner, I am a total lazy ass.  I want nothing to do with any kind of extra training or workouts but, alas, it needs to happen.  I am going to have to force myself into better shape.  I am going to start out small and see what happens.  Maybe pushups and some crunches and we’ll go from there.  I just need to start getting used to something on a regular basis.

4) THE STRETCH: You may remember that I am totally lazy.  Stretching takes time so it is really hard for me to commit to it…but it feels so good and it makes for a healthier runner so, once again, it is another lifestyle change that I am going to need to make.

That’s it for now.  I have a doctor.  My physical will be done soon enough.  I have a loose plan.  AND I AM GETTING EXCITED ABOUT IT ALL.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THE VIEW FROM HERE

  1. 51feetunder says:

    1.) set yourself up with some local races over the next year (various distances) to help keep you motivated.
    2.) Build in cycles, buildup, let (rest) off slightly, build more, ease off slightly
    3.) for complementary exercises, don’t forget lunges, and squats. once you get those down, throw a kid on your back and do ’em. make strong like bull!

  2. runbumsteve says:

    Thanks man…I will definitely keep this stuff in mind. I will start with the lunges and squats tonight.

Leave a Reply

